## STATE OF MAINE DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION





December 15, 2017

Michael Barden Department of Economic & Community Development 59 State House Station Augusta, ME 04333-0059

Don Meagher NEWSME Landfill Operations, LLC 2828 Bennoch Road Old Town, ME 04468

RE: Application #S-020700-WD-BL-A, Juniper Ridge Landfill Amendment for Continued Acceptance of In-State Municipal Solid Waste

Dear Mr. Barden and Mr. Meagher:

Your application for a solid waste license amendment to modify Department of Environmental Protection (Department) license #S-020700-WD-BC-A Condition 10, as revised in Board of Environmental Protection Order #S-020700-WD-BG-Z, was received by the Department on November 27, 2017 and was accepted for processing on December 15, 2017. The application request is for the removal of the municipal solid waste acceptance date of March 31, 2018 applicable to the existing JRL landfill. This application had been assigned the following license number: #S-020700-WD-BL-A.

Public comments on the application may be submitted to the Department during the Department's processing of the application. Requests for the Board of Environmental Protection to assume jurisdiction or for a public hearing on the application must be received by the Department, in writing, by the close of business on January 4, 2018.

At this time, the Department will begin its substantive review of the above noted Acceptance of the application as complete for processing is not a application. determination of the sufficiency of the information and does not preclude the Department from requesting additional information.

Please contact me at (207) 287-7743 or kathy.tarbuck@maine.gov if you have any questions or comments.

Sincerely,

Kathy Tarbuck, P.E.

July Tarbour

Bureau of Remediation and Waste Management

ec: David Burns, DEP, Director, Bureau of Remediation and Waste Management

Victoria Eleftheriou, DEP, Director, Division of Technical Services

John Banks, Penobscot Nation

Bill Mayo, Manager, City of Old Town

Town of Alton

Laura Sanborn, Chair, Landfill Advisory Committee

Thomas Doyle, Esq., Pierce Atwood